## INTER-AMERICAN TROPICAL TUNA COMMISSION COMISIÓN INTERAMERICANA DEL ATÚN TROPICAL

## 74<sup>TH</sup> MEETING

BUSAN (KOREA) 26-30 JUNE 2006

## **DOCUMENT IATTC-74-13**

## AMENDMENT OF RULES OF PROCEDURE REGARDING THE TERM OF SERVICE OF THE CHAIRMAN

The 72<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the Commission in June 2004 agreed that the Chairman of the IATTC should be appointed for a period of two years, renewable for another two years. It was understood that the Chairman could be selected prior to the annual meeting in June 2006, and the two-year period could begin with that meeting.

The meeting asked that the Director draft necessary changes to the Rules of Procedure and circulate them to governments for approval; this was done in a memorandum sent to Commissioners on 10 March 2006 (ref. 0193-410). The relevant section from the Rules of Procedure (Rule VI) is a copy of Article I, paragraph 7, of the 1949 Convention. These rules were written when it was not anticipated that there were be more than two parties to the Convention. Nonetheless, any revised rules of procedure must be consistent with the Convention.

The Convention provides that the Chairman shall hold office for a period of one year, and that during succeeding years the Chairman and Secretary will be of different nationalities, so that each Party has the opportunity to be represented in those offices. However, it does not specify how quickly that opportunity should be realized, nor that a Chairman may not be re-elected.

The Commission last elected a Secretary in 1993.

Accordingly, the staff prepared the following draft Resolution with the proposed amendment to replace Rule 7. This draft accompanied the memorandum to Commissioners of 10 March.

The Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission:

Taking into account its intention to have its Chairman appointed for a period longer than one year to strengthen the operation of the Commission,

Resolves as follows:

The Commission's Rules of Procedure are amended by replacing the current Rule 7 with the following text:

"The Chairman shall hold office for a period of one year, and may be re-elected for up to three additional one-year terms.