INTER-AMERICAN TROPICAL TUNA COMMISSION

COMMITTEE FOR THE REVIEW OF IMPLEMENTATION OF MEASURES ADOPTED BY THE COMMISSION

2ND MEETING

LA JOLLA, CALIFORNIA (USA) 29-30 JUNE 2011

DOCUMENT COR-02-11

COOPERATING NON-MEMBERS

In 2004 the IATTC adopted Resolution, <u>C-04-02</u>, which established the criteria for attaining the status of cooperating non-Party or cooperating fishing entity. These criteria include requirements relating to the provision of information, compliance with conservation and management measures, and participation in meetings. In 2007 the IATTC adopted Resolution <u>C-07-02</u>, which replaced C-04-02.

The resolutions establish that each year, the Director shall contact all non-Members with vessels fishing for species covered by the IATTC Convention to urge them to become a Member of the IATTC or to attain the status of a Cooperating non-Member (Cooperating Status).

The resolutions further establish that any non-Member that seeks to be accorded Cooperating Status shall apply to the Director requesting such status. Such requests must be received by the Director no later than ninety (90) days in advance of an annual meeting of the Commission in order to be considered at that meeting.

The resolutions also state that the Joint IATTC-AIDCP Working Group on Fishing by non-Parties shall be responsible for reviewing requests for Cooperating Status and for recommending to the Commission whether an applicant should receive Cooperating Status. In view of the dissolution of that Working Group, this function has now been assumed by this Committee in matters related to the IATTC.

At its 81st meeting in September 2010, the IATTC approved the recommendation made by the Joint Working Group that the cooperating non-Members of the IATTC in 2011 be Cook Islands and Kiribati.

Article XXVI of the Antigua Convention states that "... The Commission and its members shall encourage all States and regional economic integration organizations ... and, as appropriate, fishing entities ... that are not members of the Commission to become members or to adopt laws and regulations consistent with the Convention" Accordingly, the Secretariat sent letters to Bolivia, Chile. Cook Islands, Honduras, Indonesia, and Kiribati.

The Secretariat received an application from Cook Islands for Cooperating non-Member Status to the IATTC in 2011. The Secretariat is not aware of any reasons why this status should not be granted; Cook Islands meets the requirements established in Resolution C-07-02.

A communication was also received from Bolivia, indicating its interest in complying with the Commission's recommendatioss, but not expressly requesting Cooperating Status, so it was asked for clarification in this regard.